Navigation and service

Logo of the Federal Office of Consumer Protection and Food Safetybiological-diversity

The German Biosafety Clearing-House

Biosafety Clearing-House Tasks

The German Biosafety Clearing-House (German BCH) links basic information regarding the biological safety of genetically modified organisms (GMOs) in Germany, and makes this information available to both the general and expert public, such as applicants, operators, importers and exporters. The German BCH is also aimed at the representatives of the competent authorities of the other Contracting Parties to the Cartagena Protocol.

The purpose of the Cartagena Protocol is to regulate the transboundary handling of GMOs worldwide in compliance to international law, and to prevent adverse effects on biological diversity and human health in case of transport of GMOs betweeen Contracting Parties or third countries.

The BCH Central Portal is an internet platform providing information on the Cartagena Protocol in a number of languages, along with an integrated database. Parties to the Cartagena Protocol worldwide contribute information relating to, for example, regulations, contact persons, risk assessments and decisions on GMOs. This information is thus made available to all other Parties, ensuring that the objective of the Cartagena Protocol can be attained.

Tasks and objectives of the German BCH:

  • promote information sharing on the biological safety of GMOs
  • enable public participation on the biological safety of GMOs in Germany

Apropos: The term “Clearing-House” is derived from the settlement organisations which had formerly been established for international payment transactions.

 

Note: GMOs are referred to as “living modified organisms” (LMO) in the terminology used in the Cartagena Protocol.


© 2018 Federal Office of Consumer Protection and Food Safety

Navigation und Service

Logo des Bundesamtes für Verbraucherschutz und Lebensmittelsicherheitbiological-diversity

Das deutsche Biosafety Clearing-House

Aufgaben des Biosafety Clearing-House

Das deutsche Biosafety Clearing-House (D-BCH) vernetzt grundlegende Informationen zur biologischen Sicherheit von gentechnisch veränderten Organismen (GVO) in Deutschland und stellt diese sowohl der Öffentlichkeit als auch dem Fachpublikum, wie beispielsweise Antragstellern und Anwendern, Importeuren und Exporteuren, zur Verfügung. Das D-BCH richtet sich auch an Mitarbeiter der zuständigen nationalen Behörden anderer Vertragsparteien des Cartagena Protokolls.

Das Cartagena Protokoll setzt den völkerrechtlich verbindlichen Rahmen für den Import und Export von GVO. Damit trägt es dazu bei, dass sich keine nachteiligen Auswirkungen für die biologische Vielfalt oder die menschliche Gesundheit ergeben, wenn GVO zwischen Vertragsparteien oder auch Drittländern transportiert werden.

Das BCH besteht im Wesentlichen aus einer mehrsprachigen Internetplattform mit Informationen rund um das Cartagena Protokoll und mit einer integrierten Datenbank (BCH-Zentralportal). Hier tragen die Vertragsstaaten des Cartagena Protokolls ihre national gültigen Informationen z. B. zu rechtlichen Regelungen, Ansprechpartnern, Risikobewertungen und Entscheidungen zu GVO ein. Auf diese Weise machen sie ihre Informationen allen anderen Vertragsstaaten zugänglich und tragen dazu bei, das Ziel des Cartagena Protokolls (s. o.) zu erfüllen.

Aufgaben und Ziele des D-BCH:

  • Austausch von Informationen zur biologischen Sicherheit von GVO fördern
  • die Öffentlichkeit an Fragestellungen der biologischen Sicherheit von GVO in Deutschland teilhaben lassen

Übrigens: Der Begriff „Clearing-House“ leitet sich von den früher eingeführten Abwicklungsstellen für den internationalen Zahlungsverkehr ab.

Hinweis: In der Terminologie des Cartagena Protokolls werden GVO in englischer Sprache als „living modified organisms" (LMO) bezeichnet.


© 2017 Bundesamt für Verbraucherschutz und Lebensmittelsicherheit